• MASD ONLINE LEARNING 

     

    Coordinator of Student Services/PreK Counts/Online Learning 

    Ms. Pamela Gordon 

    email – pgordon@mckasd.net

     

    Full-Time Teaching Staff 

     

    Kindergarten – 2nd Grade and Elementary Special Education  

    Teacher - Ms. Halferty   

    email - mhalferty@mckasd.net 

     

    3rd – 5th Grade 

     Teacher – Mrs. Zannikos 

    email – bzannikos@mckasd.net 

     

    6th – 8th Grade Homeroom  

    Teacher – Mrs. Hegedus 

    email – lhegedus@mckasd.net 

     

    9th – 12th Grade Homeroom  

    Teacher – Mrs. Lewandowski 

    email - slewandowski@mckasd.net 

     

     

    History of MASD Online Learning- 

     

    McKeesport Area School District’s online program began in 2005. All students in Kindergarten through 12th grade have had the option to attend school in person or virtually since that time. Until 2018, Edmentum asynchronous programs were the only products that were selected for online students because the programs aligned with the PA standards that are taught in our schools.  

     

    Edmentum is actually a part of the rich history of PLATO, an original pioneer in online learning, which was invented in 1960 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. PLATO, now known as Edmentum Courseware was an answer to a pressing need for greater access to high-quality education. 

     

    Edmentum is the leading provider of K-12 digital curriculum, assessments, and services to 43,000 schools in all 50 states and over 100 countries worldwide. We partner with educators to create instructional technology that is proven, easy-to-use, individualized, and aligned to state standards. 

     

    Current Information about MASD Online Learning- 

    Students in Kindergarten through 5th grade participate in the elementary online program.  The elementary program is synchronous and asynchronous. The elementary online program is a combination of live instruction along with a variety of different online learning programs. There are two teachers assigned to the elementary program. Students in the elementary portion of the online program are required to participate in the daily online live lessons as well as complete the work that has been assigned to them in Google classroom.  

    Students in grades 6 through 12 utilize Edmentum Courseware to complete course work. Edmentum Courseware is an asynchronous online program. The school day for grade 6 -12 online learner is 12 midnight until 11:59pm. Students in grades 6-12 are expected to log in daily and successfully complete assignments. There are minimum time requirements assigned to different grade levels. It should be noted that students that work consistently for 3 hours daily are more successful in the online program. The students can message their online teachers at anytime to communicate questions or to receive feedback. 

    MASD Online Learning is connected to every school. Students are still permitted to participate in extracurricular activities held at the school. Parents can contact the building school counselor at any time to request academic information or to set up a face-to-face meeting. 

    The building counselors are listed below:  

     

    McKeesport Area School District Counselors

    Francis McClure Elementary  

    Grade  

    Counselor Name  

    E-Mail Address  

    Kindergarten – 2nd Grade  

    Mrs. Schork 

    sschork@mckasd.net 

    3rd-5th Grade  

    Mrs. Bey  

    gbey@mckasd.net  

      

    Twin Rivers Elementary  

    Grade  

    Counselor Name  

    E-Mail Address  

    Kindergarten – 2nd Grade -  

    Mrs. Easley  

    mwolf@mckasd.net  

    3rd – 5th Grade  

    Mrs. Attenberger  

    aattenberger@mckasd.net  

      

    Founders Hall Middle School  

    Grade 

    Counselor Name 

    E-Mail Address 

    6th Grade L -Z & 8th Grade 

    Ms. Pierce 

    bpierce@mckasd.net 

    6th Grade A-K & 7th Grade 

    Mrs. McCabe 

    rmccabe@mckasd.net 

     

      

    McKeesport High School  

    Letters   

    Counselor Name  

    E-Mail Address  

    A-G  

    Mrs. Amendola 

    ramendola@mckasd.net 

    H-O  

    Mrs. Geyer  

    sgeyer@mckasd.net  

    P-Z  

    Mrs. Mallory  

    nmallory@mckasd.net  

      

     

    Click on the link below to learn more about Edmentum:

    https://youtu.be/v7xPfDRha5E